The Summer We Ran Away

By Jenny Oliver

Published: July 2020

ISBN: 9780008297541

  • A moment of madness. A summer of a lifetime.

    Warm, funny, and feel-good, The Summer We Ran Away is the ideal uplifting read for fans of Veronica Henry, Milly Johnson, and Carole Matthews.

    Award-winning romance author Debbie Johnson says, ‘You know you're in for a treat when you open a Jenny Oliver book.’

    It was meant to be the party of the summer…

    In Cedar Road, everyone is preparing for Lexi’s ‘White Hot’ summer party. For one night, parking squabbles and petitions are put aside as neighbours sip Prosecco under the fairy lights and gather by the hot tub to marvel at Lexi’s effortlessly glamorous life with Hot Hamish.

    For Julia, it’s a chance to coax husband Charlie out of his potting shed and into a shirt so they can have a welcome break from the hellish house renovation they’ve been wrestling with. And it’s a chance for Julia to pretend – just for a night – that her life is as perfect as Lexi’s.

    But when, during the party, one of Julia’s WhatsApp messages falls into the wrong hands and reveals her most intimate thoughts, things reach boiling point…
        
    And when all the neighbours know exactly what you’re thinking, there’s only one thing to do.

    Run away.

    It’s going to be a summer Julia will never forget…

    Praise for Jenny Oliver:

    ‘You know you’re in for a treat when you open a Jenny Oliver book’ Debbie Johnson

    ‘Made me want to fly to Spain and dance on the beach with a glass of sangria in my hand. The perfect summer read’ Sarah Morgan

    ‘Brilliantly written … packed full of humour and there is a wonderful thread of love’ The Sun

    ‘Heart-warming, funny and wonderfully observed’ Fiona Harper

    ‘Dramatic and fun!’ My Weekly

    ‘Jenny Oliver does a brilliant job’ Woman

  • All orders are dispatched the next working day.

    Delivery Times & Charges

    UK: £2.49 standard shipping rate. Please allow up to 5 working days for delivery.

    International: overseas shipping to World Zones 1 to 8. We ship with DHL Standard International Delivery. Postage charges vary according to the weight of your items and the destination country, and are calculated at the checkout. Please allow up to 14 working days for delivery.

    For subscriptions, up to 10 working days, with free postage to UK addresses.

    For eBooks, immediately.

    Please note that you cannot download an eBook purchased on the Mills & Boon website to a Kindle device, as it doesn't support the file type.

    For pre-orders, immediately after publication date.

    Contactless Delivery during COVID-19

    We understand you may have concerns about safety during the current climate, so you'll be pleased to know that our couriers have already implemented contactless delivery for our customers. Where possible, they will leave your parcel in your designated safe place or on your doorstep. If your parcel requires a signature they will verbally confirm your identity from a safe distance and sign on your behalf. If you have any concerns, please contact our customer services team.

    For more information about delivery/international delivery, please visit our delivery page.

  • If you wish to return a book or parcel for whatever reason, please contact customer services.

    Please ensure that book(s) are sent back unread, in the original packaging and your dispatch note is included. Without this we will not be able to process your refund or replacement item. 

    For more information about returns and our eBook policy, please go to our returns page.

Subscribe & Save

Our expert editors handpick the very best romantic reads and send them directly to you every month – we’ll even pay the P&P!

Explore